Exploring the Steps towards Inner Peace | Step 1

One day, the kids were watching Kung Fu Panda for the umpteenth time. And, I heard the phrase “inner peace” for the umpteenth time, as well. But, this is the first time that I am going to write about it because it is something that’s really hard to achieve.

Why – when this world is always a battle field? We wake up daily, do hygiene routine, prepare breakfast, eat, drink and do a little extra before heading out for work. We worry we might be late. We are a little concerned of the piling amount of work on our desk. There is just no room to practice that “inner peace.”

How? That’s the million-dollar question. So, today I am going to explore the steps towards achieving inner peace. Since I am just on my way to getting it, why don’t you and I become “inner peace” buddies?

The first step I believe is: SMILE

My mom used to tell me: “Smile and the rest of the world will smile at you.”

I don’t want to dwell on the anatomy of a smile that I came to learn because my knowledge about facial muscles nowadays has been limited somewhat. I’d rather focus on the subjective rather than on the quantifiable fact.

Anyway, so SMILE.

How will this let us achieve inner peace?

IMHO, smiling always lessens the pain or the daily struggle. When you smile, your mind relaxes and when your mind relaxes so does the rest of your body.

You see, the mind – in all its power and glory (which I believe is the reason why God placed it on top) – has the capacity to ease up every inch of your muscles whenever and wherever you willed it to.

Smiling is perceived by the mind as a “pleasurable” activity. Well, I am no expert and as I’ve said I am only saying things based on subjective observation – nothing factual. But, if you look at it closely, smiling does have a calming effect, doesn’t it?

Why don’t we try practicing it now? You don’t have to keep plastering that smile day in and day out. You can smile inwardly – like smiling conspicuously to yourself.

Smile more frequently and achieve inner peace! :-)

8 thoughts on “Exploring the Steps towards Inner Peace | Step 1

  1. Pingback: Exploring the Steps towards Inner Peace | FINAL STEP | Psst, Jaq is Talking

  2. Pingback: Exploring the Steps towards Inner Peace | Step 6 | Psst, Jaq is Talking

  3. Pingback: Exploring the Steps towards Inner Peace | Step 5 | Psst, Jaq is Talking

  4. Pingback: Exploring the Steps towards Inner Peace | Step 4 | Psst, Jaq is Talking

  5. Pingback: Exploring the Steps towards Inner Peace | Step 3 | Psst, Jaq is Talking

  6. Pingback: Exploring the Steps towards Inner Peace | Step 2 | Psst, Jaq is Talking

Leave a Reply

